You have a near death experience but someone else’s life flashes before your eyes – Idea #1

I knew I shouldn’t have been driving that late at night, but I have never been known for my patience and I just wanted the road trip to be over. I figured I could suffer through a few more hours, find a hotel somewhere – or even just a truck stop – and hunker down for a few hours before finishing the drive. Cross country travel is the pits.

Of course, like most people, I severely over estimated my ability to stay awake and aware at 2:00 AM, and found myself distracted by a field of fireflies to my right. My eyes were definitely not on the road, and so I wasn’t paying attention when the trailer in front of me started fish tailing.

It fishtailed into the front of my Prius, causing me to the roll the car one…two…three…four…five…I stopped counting.

They say that when you’re about to die – or even when you just think you’re about to die – that your life flashes before your eyes. And even though I’m pretty sure my eyes were open the entire time the car was rolling off into oblivion, I saw everything. First steps, first words, first days of school, first dates, first heartbreaks. I saw it all. The way her parents loved her, the way she charmed everyone she met. The wildly happy and hopeful person she had become.

I snapped back. The life that had flashed before my eyes had not been my own. I struggled with the seatbelt to let me free and forced myself through the broken passenger window. In a daze, I began to run towards what I thought was the road, panicked. Silent. Everything went dark.

Leave a Reply

