Forced Entry.

Something I tell everyone who comes to me with an idea for a story is, well – basically to echo Anne Lamott, you have to write a shitty first draft. Don’t self edit. Let it be sloppy and painful and don’t you dare delete that last sentence.

This is something I say with ease, but very rarely do. I never finish anything I start because I want it to be perfect at the end.

I don’t know why. I’ve never been a perfectionist. I’ve hammered out some pretty shitty first draft 20 page essays that I never edited and turned in just like that, in their bloody, raw, extremely exhausted form.

But when it comes to the things that I care about, I want them tidy, finished, topped with a cherry. It’s more for your benefit than mine, but everything I write becomes painstaking and difficult.

Even this entry, which I am forcing myself to write without changing it simply for the art of practice. So, prepare yourself for a year in which – hopefully – I sit and bleed my words for you. Those things are always so much more fun to read, anyway…

Leave a Reply

